Old news is still news!

Sorry all, I’m running a little heavy at work lately so I’m going to have to toss y’all a snippet. A little over a year ago a news article came out about how people reacted to the Navy facebook page reposting this image from TumblinFeminist:

Simple Truth

You can see all the initial reactions here.

Go alllllll the way back to see such gems like:

“Not really amusing coming from the Navy. I can see some of my more uncouth friends posting something like this, but the Navy? Have some sense!”

“If this is supposed to be funny, it’s not….and it reflects badly on the Navy for posting it. Certainly gives the impression that they don’t take the problem seriously. If it’s not supposed to be funny, then it’s just plain stupid.”

And lastly:

“That’s Embarrassing. Is this really how our Sailors are though of? As stupid little 4 year olds??? Really????”

Well nothing else is working, what the hell do you suggest?

The folks who were against the image saw it as the Navy making light of sexual assault victims. I see it as making fun of the assaulter, who obviously can’t tell what is rape. The more I talk to the people around me and the more I read about assault, the more I realize that a lot of the men who commit these atrocities don’t believe that whatever they are doing is wrong. They think that since they’ve had sex with a woman before consensually, that it’s ok to do it again even if they’re drunk.  They think that if a woman enters a hotel room with a man, they are entitled to have sex with them!

Gah!

About feministsailor

Lots of shitty sexist things happen to me in the Navy! So I’d like to tell you about it. Also, I curse like a Sailor. Sorry if that offends you.
This entry was posted in Commentary, News, Snippets and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Old news is still news!

  1. MR Graham says:

    I think this needs to be printed out and hung in the foyer of every dorm building in the world. And every hotel lobby, sports arena, church, post office, police station, library, etc. Perhaps if it’s everywhere, it’ll start getting through people’s brains.

    • Definitely needs to be more of a talking point. During our sexual assault briefs I barely ever hear this stance on it. At my next command I’m going to see about getting involved in the training myself :/

      • MR Graham says:

        Of course, I also believe that if more men suffer castration while attempting rape, the attempts will peter off. Women who can defend themselves make a pretty good deterrent.

Leave a Reply

