Book Review: “A Little F’d Up: Why Feminism Is Not a Dirty Word” by Julie Zeilinger

I’ve got two posts fully written, I just have to draw pictures for them. I’m procrastinating a little, so in the meantime here is some filler! I read Julie Zeilinger’s book “A Little F’d Up: Why Feminism Is Not a Dirty Word” on May 27th (before this blog was something I’d even thought of) here is the review I wrote for it:

“I’m fairly new to the world of feminism, only recently really broaching the subject because I began dating a girl who identified as a feminist.

She immediately brought to mind my only encounter with a self declared feminist, years ago: The lady told me she was a feminist and her husband was too. I remember being explicitly shocked that she had a husband for one (apparently I assumed all Feminist ladies to be either gay or man-hating. Or both.) And my next trailing memory is thinking “That poor man”

I mean seriously, what the hell was I thinking? So throughout the years I carried this nebulous idea of feminism being about man-hating, non-shaving, lumber jack lesbian bull dykes. I never thought about that woman again, until I met my feminist girlfriend.

My fabulous girl slowly opened my mind with her posts on facebook from blogs like feministing and the Fbomb. She isn’t just passionate about feminism, but other social issues like racism. So when she recently ordered this book I decided I would like to read it too.

The first thing I would like to say about this book is even though it is written for the young teenage feminist in mind, it’s extremely accessible to any age group. The focus on young teenagers in general was not apparent until the very end of the book when she discusses age specific things dealing with high school. For the majority of the book I was educated on the history of Feminism, the debate behind the definition of feminism, racism, genital mutilation, body image and many other topics and how they all tie into the feminism.

There was even a moment when I forgot I was reading a book about feminism when it was addressing the topic of bullying (cyber bullying and real life bullying) It was only when she skillfully closed the chapter that I could see how it was completely tied in with the basic facet of feminism.

All in all this book is an excellent introduction to feminism for any age or gender or sexuality. Very accessible language and writing, breaks it all down piece by piece then ties it all back together in a manner that is clear and concise, and definitely has made me reevaluate how I perceive ‘feminism’ and how I myself have been a feminist with even realizing it.”

I definitely recommend picking it up if you haven’t yet, a really good ‘primer’ on feminism.

About feministsailor

Lots of shitty sexist things happen to me in the Navy! So I’d like to tell you about it. Also, I curse like a Sailor. Sorry if that offends you.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book Review: “A Little F’d Up: Why Feminism Is Not a Dirty Word” by Julie Zeilinger

  1. Check out Dancing Skeletons by Katherine Dettwyler. It’s primarily about nutrition, but there’s a good deal about women’s roles in Mali. It’s a very interesting read.

Leave a Reply

