Book Review: “Outrageous Acts And Everyday Rebellions” by Gloria Steinem

It’s filler time again! I read this book on July 24th.

“My girlfriend wished to read this book, and since it was at my local library I picked it up. After she finished it I went ahead and decided to read it myself.

The book itself is a little dated, most of the articles are anywhere from 1960-1985, so some articles were a little uninteresting. Oh the flip side, because of the age of some of the articles, it made it very interesting to see how much has changed in the last few decades.

I am very new to feminism myself and a lot of things were shocking and new to me. The Hitler article gave me so much new information about the time in history of which I had previously had no knowledge of… I have been to Germany, visited the concentration camps, museums, even Eagles nest! None of these things had ever mentioned any of the feminism angle of the Holocaust. Of course we focus on the Jewish angle the most, with good reason, but it is super enlightening to see a new angle to it.

All in all I learned a lot about the past of Feminism which is good, as a basis in the history of any subject you wish to learn of is requirement to understand it well. Gloria Steinem explores her own understanding and discovery of Feminism, and it’s intriguing to see her discussing when she came to many of the realizations dealing with gender and Feminism that I myself am, as I learn more and read more.”

Still a good read, if a bit old.

About feministsailor

Lots of shitty sexist things happen to me in the Navy! So I’d like to tell you about it. Also, I curse like a Sailor. Sorry if that offends you.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

