Snippet: Really Chief, really?

Disclaimer: rates and names have been changed.

While working today an E-3 and some other junior enlisted were jabbering away about men wearing the color salmon. There was a female Chief present in the room. I didn’t hear the entire conversation, but I busted in anyways.

“Real men wear pink!”
“Pfft, real gay men wear pink.” OSSN Twilight said flippantly.

Now lately I’ve been trying to curtail myself with immediately doing something silly like shouting dramatically at the offender “THAT’S WRONGGGGGGGGG!” in occasions like this.

shamelessly cribbed from first image result of “Dramatic Point”

Instead I’m trying to turn the conversations around so that they realize what they said is wrong/inappropriate/whatever.

“Well, I wear pink, so what does that make me?” I replied, attempting to insinuate that as a gay female I would not want to wear pink (according to his views).

The Chief at this point joins the conversation.

“What did you say?” she asked.
“Chief I said I wear pink, so what does that make me?”
“A girl…” she smiled then “And what does that make men who wear pink?”
“Um…. Men who wear pink?” I replied, perturbed.
“A real girl!” she cackles at that, and goes back to her work.

Everyone else also returns to their duties, and I’m left sitting there, scratching my head.

About feministsailor

Lots of shitty sexist things happen to me in the Navy! So I’d like to tell you about it. Also, I curse like a Sailor. Sorry if that offends you.
This entry was posted in Snippets and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Snippet: Really Chief, really?

  1. BroadBlogs says:

    Educational and a fun read! Thanks.

Leave a Reply

