Snip: Reason #811 Not to be “That Guy”

From the official That Guy website:

That Guy is a multi-media campaign that uses online and offline communication with the goal of reducing excessive drinking among young servicemen. The campaign encourages young enlisted personnel to reject binge drinking because it detracts from the things they care about: family, friends, dating, sex, money, and reputation. The campaign uses humor to deliver a serious message and provides viral tools so you can be part of the effort to eradicate That Guy. The campaign is a reminder to everyone: Don’t Be That Guy!

“That Guy” campaign is funded by the Department of Defense (DOD). Ever since it started in 2005 I’ve seen several posters and banners from the campaign around the different commands I’ve been stationed at. I never really paid much attention to the campaign, yet last week I noticed this comic posted on the wall:

That Guy

Oh a cute play on words, but waitasecond…

Ugh. I know it’s silly but I can’t get over the thought process that they’re insinuating that if you don’t drink at the party you’re going to get laid. I’m torn between thinking this comic is inappropirate for our service members and that I’m just reading too far into it.

Also another issue I have with the program is that they have a few comics that feature females, but they do it like this:

Sounds like she needs a friend

I’m sure her shoes were lovely

I only have recently seen a few “That Girl” comics, and I find it annoying they cross out guy and add the girl, as if it was an after thought, not important enough to make it’s own template for.

Once again, I might be reading too far into this, but these comics irk me sometimes, and I don’t think they’re always sending the best message possible. What do y’all think?

About feministsailor

Lots of shitty sexist things happen to me in the Navy! So I’d like to tell you about it. Also, I curse like a Sailor. Sorry if that offends you.
This entry was posted in Snippets and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Snip: Reason #811 Not to be “That Guy”

  1. Missy M. says:

    ::being brave and posting my first comment on someone else’s blog ever:: Well….they had a good idea. The execution leaves a lot to be desired. The characters are stereotypical, and the first one? With the drunk guy? Yeah, I’m kind of getting the implication that if dude wasn’t such a sloppy drunk he would totally get some. But, as someone else who identifies as a feminist, maybe I’m reading too much into it right along with you.

Leave a Reply

