Commentary: Lauren; a mini-series on rape in the Army, 3 of 3

Trigger warning: Rape

Please see the following posts prior to read this one:
Commentary: Lauren; a mini-series on rape in the Army, 1 of 3
Commentary: Lauren; a mini-series on rape in the Army, 2 of 3

Here is the last of the “Lauren” miniseries

Appropriately titled “Suck”, it begins with a super heated scene between the Major and the Sergeant. Lauren gets pushed aside and told that there is nothing that can be done, absolutely nothing, and if she continues forward and does not “Embrace the Suck”, she will lose her career.

Directly after Captain Masters comes at her with other situations where women had been assaulted and tried to come forward with the truth. She throws the Sergeant a line telling her she has a contact at the Huffington Post who could bring this all to light, but it will all come down on her.

Sergeant Weils embraces the suck, choosing her career.

I can’t help but wonder how many other women in a similar situation have chosen the same. Out of fear, love for their work, their country. I think I would probably push forward with charges, but I cannot denounce anyone who chooses like the Sergeant.

 I can denounce the system in place that allows such things to happen and be buried, and I do.

About feministsailor

Lots of shitty sexist things happen to me in the Navy! So I’d like to tell you about it. Also, I curse like a Sailor. Sorry if that offends you.
This entry was posted in Commentary, Video and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Commentary: Lauren; a mini-series on rape in the Army, 3 of 3

  1. Missy M. says:

    I want to thank you for writing these. Its a really powerful series, and I never would’ve found on my own.

  2. it’s so ugly. it’s just so fucking ugly. I don’t know what else to say. it shouldn’t be that way; it should never be that way. victims who come forward are strong people who should be respected not chastised.

Leave a Reply

