Snippet: Team Delusional & Celebrity Worship

NOTE: As I now understand it, people who wish (“ship”)  Rihanna and Chris to rekindle their relationship call themselves Chrianna, and people who oppose that coupling call the Chrianna folks “Team Delusional”

I was walking to lunch with two fellow coworkers as I always do. We’re not so close that we hang out together after work, but we definitely have enough camaraderie to share our meals.

As we strolled we shot the shit as per usual. They were discussing the possibility of Chris Brown and Rihanna getting back together. I’ll be honest, while I am familiar with Rihanna (and enjoy her music) I know next to nothing about Chris Brown except for the incident between him and Rihanna some years ago. So as they were talking about the couple reuniting, they mentioned things like “team delusional” and “Chrianna”.  In my blissful ignorance of the happenings of pop stars I tried to enter the conversation.

“Didn’t Chris Brown assault Rhianna a few years ago?” I said, unwittingly unleashing a 10 minute tirade on myself in defense of Chris Brown.

One of the females I was with felt very strongly on the subject, and while I cannot remember every exact word I do remember a few key points. She expressed how angry she was that because of the one incident years ago, Chris would always be branded as an domestic abuser. She stressed that he had never abused anyone before, and hadn’t after either. I could see her points, but she concluded with something that caused me to raise my eyebrows so high they practically escaped onto my scalp.

WHAT

No, no, I don’t know.

“And he even said before that he didn’t want to be that way, in a way that’s probably what drove him to be that way. Y’know?”

My coworker at this point was extremely heated from my question and her defense of Mr. Brown that I pointed off to something shiny to distract the three of us from the conversation

While I have no idea if Chris Brown is a changed man or not, or if he had done such things in the past or the will in the future, what I do know is such an immediate and emotional response for a celebrity is frightening to me. Said coworker has often talked about Chris in a manner praising his body of work, so I can’t help but fear a little that she’s like one of those women I saw posting about the incident after it had just happened, wishing that Chris Brown would assault them… 

I’m not sure where society is going with celebrity worship, but I’m really sure I don’t like it. I’m fond of certain stars (Johnny Depp, Angelina Jolie, Milla Jovovich, and Michelle Rodriguez to name a few…), but if a news story came out tomorrow saying that one of them had done something similar I’d like to think that I would not immediately jump to their defense.

Are celebrities granted special status because of their stardom? I’d like to think not, but it definitely seems so…

About feministsailor

Lots of shitty sexist things happen to me in the Navy! So I’d like to tell you about it. Also, I curse like a Sailor. Sorry if that offends you.
This entry was posted in Snippets and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Snippet: Team Delusional & Celebrity Worship

  1. So… this person thinks they should get back together because he only assaulted Rihanna once? Seriously… Because he only beat the snot out of her once, he’s not an assaulter? I’m not sure I understand this reasoning.

  2. Karen says:

    First, regarding the female co-worker, who defended Chris Brown, am I both appalled and confused as to how anyone, especially a woman, could excuse such an action. Just because he has no previous charges of domestic abuse does not mean that he’s never beaten the crap out of someone before, and just because he hasn’t done it since does not mean that he won’t ever do it again. By beating up Rhianna, Brown demonstrated that he is capable of domestic violence. What he did was disgusting and disturbing. People who abuse others, be it physically, sexually, and/or emotionally, are not people who do it once, such abuse is indicative of greater psychological issues at play within the mind of the abuser. This isn’t one mistake, like shop lifting or public drunkenness, this was the physical abuse of another living being. He terrorized her. He beat her. He betrayed her. And it takes a certain type of person to be both willing and able to perpetrate such behavior.
    Second, regarding your statements about celebrity worship, I completely agree. I find it disturbing on *so* many levels. No human being, least of a celebrity, should be worshiped.

    Good post.

Leave a Reply

