Hair Snip

So I’ve decided to give “Hair” it’s own category as I’ll be in the military for the foreseeable future, and barring any new regulations my hair will stay just as short.

Recently at work, OSSN Twilight and myself were lugging around some heavy carts full of supplies. We came across a civilian female. OSSN Twilight was ahead of me and she encountered him first.

Civlian: Oh, Navy! We don’t see you guys around enough! Let me help you [by opening the door]”

At that moment Twilight moved out of the way and she caught a glimpse of me.

Civilian: “Good afternoon Sir!”

Sigh. Cue me:

FM: I’m a girl… [under my breath]

She proceeded ahead of us to open the doors. As I passed her she said:

Civilian: You guys take care now!

FM: Still a girl… [louder]

In a funnier note, one of her coworkers caught the whole exchange with my quiet replies and her mortified face as we left the room was pretty entertaining.

EDIT:

I wrote this post ahead of time but today I got called Sir by three different Civilians! Three! This is unprecedented! After each time I just said “Actually, it’s M’aam” and just slid away, but I think from now on I’m going to just let it slide completely and see if they ever notice on their own.

About feministsailor

Lots of shitty sexist things happen to me in the Navy! So I’d like to tell you about it. Also, I curse like a Sailor. Sorry if that offends you.
This entry was posted in Hair, Snippets and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hair Snip

  1. Melanie says:

    Short hair is so much simplier. My answer to “what do you want” is easy too: off my neck, out of my eyes, and wash and wear. Anyone who thinks that short hair automatically means Sir has never experienced the joys of 30 minutes from bed to car.

    • Definitely. It happened again today. It was nice this time, I automatically said “M’aam” when he said sir, but another civilian overheard everything and told me he was crazy and obviously bad perception. I’ve noticed it’s always the older crowd who does it, maybe they just have trouble adjusting to the fact girls are in the military now.

      • Melanie says:

        Maybe the uniform makes everyone look, well, uniform, but men have rough faces from years of shaving; it shouldn’t be so hard to recognize and apply the proper term.

        • well I actually just wrote a post about it all, it’ll show on friday.

          I don’t look traditionally male, or sound it. But I’ve noticed a lot of older folks just automatically say SIR to me 😦

Leave a Reply

